Tag Archives: cfda awards

The CFDA and Vogue Finalist Have Been Announced

New Shoes Up At TFAS Shop!

From Style.com: 

Breaking news: The Council of Fashion Designers of America and Vogue have announced the ten finalists for the seventh annual CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund awards.

The fund was established to help emerging American design talent find continued success in the fashion business, and the winner of the competition (which kicks off at the end of July and culminates in mid-November) is awarded $200,000 and a yearlong mentorship, while the two runners-up receive $50,000.

“Fashion is probably the only industry in the world where its fledgling talents are expected to be as creatively adept at running a business as they are at design,” says Editor in Chief Anna Wintour. “Many, clearly, are not, and it’s through the support of the Fund that these promising designers will be able to build a future for themselves—and for American fashion.”

The Ten Finalists:
ALTUZARRA – Joseph Altuzarra 
EDDIE BORGO – Eddie Borgo
CHRISTIAN COTA – Christian Cota
ROBERT GELLER – Robert Geller
PRABAL GURUNG – Prabal Gurung
MOSS LIPOW – Moss Lipow
LODEN DAGER – Oliver Helden and Paul Marlow
PAMELA LOVE – Pamela Love
GREGORY PARKINSON – Gregory Parkinson
BILLY REID – Billy Reid

Over the next few months, stay tuned to vogue.com for full coverage of the journey of this year’s finalists, plus coverage of previous CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund awards.

 I just want everyone to know that I have some news regarding fashion internships and guest writing spots coming soon. If you are someone that needs clips, or is someone looking for a fashion journalism internship stay tuned…

The Council of Fashion Designers of America 2010 Winners

Don’t forget to shop The Fat and Skinny Shop for sizes 8-20, L-3X!

Sorry this is a few days late!

There was a moving tribute to McQueen by SJP, Iman won the Fashion Icon Award, Michael Kors won the Geoffrey Beane Lifetime Acheivement Award, Christopher Bailey won the International Award. and Paper Magazine’s editor and publisher Kim Hastreiter showed up in pink flip flops to receive her Eugenia Sheppard Award.

Photo: Dimitrios Kambouris/Getty Images/ The Cut

From the Cut:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
The nominees:
Alexander Wang, Donna Karan, Marc Jacobs
The winner:
Marc Jacobs
Menswear Designer of the Year
The nominees:
Michael Bastian, David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for rag & bone, Tom Ford
The winner:
David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for rag & bone
Accessory Designer of the Year
The nominees:
Alexis Bittar, Marc Jacobs, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
The winner:
Alexis Bittar
Swarovski Award for Womenswear
The nominees:
Jason Wu, Joseph Altuzarra, Prabal Gurung
The winner:
Jason Wu
Swarovski Award for Menswear
The nominees:
Patrik Ervell, Richard Chai, Simon Spurr
The winner:
Richard Chai
Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
The nominees:
Alexander Wang, Dana Lorenz, Eddie Borgo
The winner:
Alexander Wang
Popular Vote
The winner:
Ralph Lauren (again!)